Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

Education Council Congratulates Award Recipients

14 June 2016

The chief executive of the Education Council, Dr Graham Stoop, has congratulated this year’s winners of the Prime Minister’s Excellence Awards.

McAuley High School won top honours. The Auckland girls’ school was a finalist in three categories and, in addition to winning the Supreme Award, won the Excellence in Engaging trophy.

Dr Stoop who convened the experts’ and judges’ panel said there was an embarrassment of riches for the judges to choose from.

“There were a record number of entries in all categories and the quality of the entries was particularly high, so credit must be given not just to the award winners, but to all those who submitted entries.

“Ultimately in recognising and rewarding exceptional teaching and leadership we show all schools anything is possible.”

The other category winners were:

  • Excellence in Leading: Rotorua Boys’ High School
  • Excellence in Teaching and Learning: Te Puna Reo o Puhi Kaiti, Gisborne
  • Excellence in Governing: Rangitoto College, Auckland
  • 2016 Focus Prize: Karanga Mai Young Parent College & Early Learning Centre, Kaiapoi.

The awards, in their third year, recognise and celebrate outstanding achievements in early childhood education, primary and secondary schooling.

They were presented by Prime Minister John Key at a ceremony at the Auckland War Memorial Museum attended by the 14 finalists along with representatives from all parts of the education sector.

The winning entry in each category received $20,000 and a professional development opportunity.

As the winner of the Supreme Award, McAuley High School received an additional $30,000 plus an opportunity to represent New Zealand education.

Finalists also received a financial award to acknowledge their contribution to education.